Shiny New Store, Same Crappy Service

I’ve never had a problem with the Verizon network, but customer service is another story entirely. They just can’t seem to get their in-store experience right, no matter how hard they try. Earlier this month, a shiny new Verizon store opened a few miles from my house in Londonderry, NH. Today I went in to get my battery checked/replaced, since my phone hasn’t been holding a charge for the past several weeks.

I checked in at the touchscreen kiosk near the entry like a good doobie, registering my information so my name would be entered in the service queue. The names of those who are waiting appear on a couple of flat-screens suspended from the ceilings – much like the merchandise pickup window at Sears. I was No. 1 for tech service – a good sign. Except for the fact that there was no sign of any tech support people – or even a tech support waiting area. Everyone on the floor was focused on sales.

Ten minutes into my wait, a manager-looking type finally made eye contact and said, “I’m sure someone will be with you shortly.” She was mistaken. I waited another 10 minutes before bailing. My name never moved from the queue, and I never saw any tech support geeks. All the displays on the floor were shiny and new, but the service still sucks.

One thought on “Shiny New Store, Same Crappy Service”

Leave a Reply

