A Blog Is a Terrible Thing to Waste

Apologies to my small but loyal readership for my horrific drop-off of posts to this space. My editorial consulting biz has been hurtling along at about 150% capacity since September, and I recently added a new twist (literally) by tearing the ACL in my right knee, which knocked my productivity for a loop. (Those of you expecting an adventurous tale of derring-do or sports-related heroics regarding the injury will be sadly disappointed: I blew out the knee scrimmaging with my daughter’s U-12 soccer team.)

You’d think I’d have quite a stockpile of blog ideas after blowing it off for so long, but that’s not the case. I’ve been staring at my home page off an on for days with no fresh ideas on what to write about, just an increasing sense of frustration over the moldy headlines. Seems like I need to retrain myself to blog, just like I’ll be retraining my knee to act like a knee again.

All in all, very frustrating. Part of the draw for starting my own business was so I could tend to things like this blog without the weight of a corporate job dragging me down. Now I’ve overextended myself to the point where I can’t spend the time focusing on the things that are important to me and my business (beyond paying the bills). May be time for a reset. Or maybe it’s just the meds talking!

6 thoughts on “A Blog Is a Terrible Thing to Waste”

  1. “(Those of you expecting an adventurous tale of derring-do or sports-related heroics regarding the injury will be sadly disappointed: I blew out the knee scrimmaging with my daughter’s U-12 soccer team.)”

    Hate to break it to you dude: that’s pretty much what we all figured. I’d be more supportive and sympathetic but hey … it’s me.

Leave a Reply

