When Actions Speak Louder than Words

Check email this morning, open one from HP with the semi-disturbing subject line, “HP wants to get to know you better.” Not sure I want that, but they’re offering 10% off on ink and multifunction printers if I update my email newsletter profile. I’m in the market for a new printer, so what the heck, it’s worth five minutes of my time. Click on the link, go to the landing page, and see this:

System Down

We’re sorry, but we are temporarily unavailable. Please try again soon.

This was less than two hours after I received the email. I now know more about them than they know about me.

One thought on “When Actions Speak Louder than Words”

  1. I recently had a similar experience, not with HP but with a company that makes the “pilates stick”–some kind of “portable pilates system.” I saw the ad for the “pilates stick” on my profile page on Facebook (interestingly, I list pilates among my favorite activities on said profile page.) When I clicked on the pilates stick ad, the page didn’t load! Too bad: I was genuinely interested in the product.

Leave a Reply

