‘Fake Steve Jobs’ Blogger Outed

The author of the funniest blog on the planet, Fake Steve Jobs, was unmasked today by the New York Times. The writer is Dan Lyons, a former PC Week colleague who’s now a writer/editor with Forbes. Quoth Lyons via the NYT:

“I’m stunned that it’s taken this long,” said Mr. Lyons, 46, when a reporter interrupted his vacation in Maine on Sunday to ask him about Fake Steve. “I have not been that good at keeping it a secret. I’ve been sort of waiting for this call for months.”

Lyons is now getting plenty of buzz for his efforts. Tech bloggers have turned from speculating on who the author was (pre-exposure) to alternately praising Lyons’ wit or castigating his hypocrisy. Me, I’m firmly in the pro-Fake Steve camp; the writing is brilliant, the posts laugh-out-loud funny. I can’t wait to read the book.

Leave a comment