Playing Catch-Up

Back from an extended break due not so much to the holidays as to a couple of big projects with hard deadlines approaching. Time flies when you have your head down, which means I have a lot to catch up on, blogwise:

  1. Death and dying. ‘Tis the season … for celebrity deaths. We’ve lost some great ones over the past couple of weeks (James Brown, Peter Boyle, Al Shugart, and yes, Gerald Ford, who restored some dignity to the White House after Watergate) and some not-so-great ones (Saddam Hussein, whose bootleg execution video has elevated citizen journalism onto an entirely new level). I lost both my parents in prior years around the holidays, so my heart goes out to anyone who lost a loved one in December, celeb or not.
  2. Reflection. 2006 was a big transition year for me: closed up magazine, quit job, started new business. Now working from home, I have reclaimed three hours previously lost to a daily commute and find myself much more productive. I’m thrilled to be spending less time on the road and more time with my family. Now, if I could just nail down that next big career step ….
  3. Rebirth. I will exercise more in 2007. I will eat better. I will drink less. I will organize my files. Sure I will.
  4. The NFL Network. Bizarre booth incident during the Giants-Redskins broadcast Saturday night when not one, but two distinct belches could be heard during the broadcast with Bryant Gumbel and Chris Collinsworth. The burps were so obvious that Gubmel, obviously at the prodding of a producer, acknowledged the passage of gas but blamed them on “an open mike somewhere.” Yeah, like the one in front of your mouth, windbag.

Here’s to a happy, safe and productive 2007 for all.

Leave a Reply

